McCann Technical School
English Language Arts

Department Faculty
Sarah Hadley
shadley@mccanntech.org | Phone Ext: 151
Teacher Page
Barbara Labonte
blabonte@mccanntech.org | Phone Ext. 165
Teacher Page
Karen Lefave
klefave@mccanntech.org | Phone Ext. 145
Teacher Page
Kenneth Ostrowski
kostrowski@mccanntech.org | Phone Ext: 153
Teacher Page
Cynthia Roper-Patenaude
croper@mccanntech.org | Phone Ext: 152
Teacher Page
Katie West
kwest@mccanntech.org | Phone Ext: 154
Teacher Page
Kelly-Anne Polidoro
kpolidoro@mccanntech.org | Phone Ext. 119
Teacher Page

For every career field in the 21st Century, communication and critical thinking skills are essential for success. Students develop these skills by analyzing works of fiction and non-fiction and then presenting their thoughts in a variety of formats that include traditional paper-writing as well as through the use of technology. Students at McCann will encounter works of literature ranging from classics that relate to modern situations and events to contemporary American literature that offers different perspectives on our daily lives. The English staff provides our students with opportunities to develop and share their own thoughts and opinions about material covered in class through a variety of media including discussions, oral presentations, artistic representations, and the use of electronic-medias. The English curriculum is aligned with the Massachusetts State Frameworks ensuring that all students are equipped with the knowledge and skills required for college, work, and the 21st Century.

English Language Arts MCAS Questions
SAT ELA Level 1 Practice Test

Course Offerings
  • Freshmen
    • Literature/Writing
    • CP Literature/Writing
    • Honors Literature/Writing
  • Sophomores
    • Literature/Writing
    • CP Literature/Writing
    • Honors Literature/Writing
  • Juniors
    • Literature/Writing
    • CP Literature/Writing
    • Honors Literature/Writing
  • Seniors
    • Literature/Writing
    • CP Literature/Writing
    • Honors Literature/Writing

See full English Curriculum here